School Logo

St Patrick's Catholic Primary School

“Growing in God’s Love”

Get in touch

Social Media


The school has one class for each age group from Nursery ( age 3-4 years ) to Year 6 ( age 10-11 years ). The Nursery class has 26 children attending. All other classes have places for 30 children.


Each class has its own room. In addition smaller rooms and shared spaces, for example the hall and library are used for specific activities. Each class has a class teacher who is assisted either by a qualified nursery nurse or a teaching assistant. In addition, specialist teachers work to support children with special educational needs and children who have English as an additional language. Specialist music teachers visit the school during the week to provide whole class lessons and tuition in selected instruments. All teachers and teaching assistants are fully qualified to work with primary-age children and together have a wide, rich range of experience, skills and knowledge which they bring to the work of the School. The School has a Site Services Officer who lives on the School site. New staff receive high quality induction into their roles and responsibilities on arrival. Continuing professional development is a priority for all and staff strive to update their expertise through regular, planned attendance at relevant courses. We view teamwork as essential to the achievement of high standards in the school and teaching and support staff meet regularly to review and plan school improvement.


The school is organised in three phases as described below.


The Foundation Stage is for children between 3 and 5 years. The Nursery and Reception classes make up this stage. Each class has its own outdoor play area and small garden area that are used as vital parts of the learning environment. The Foundation Stage is also known as the “Early Years” within the school.


Key Stage 1 is the first phase of the National Curriculum ( taught in England to all children age 5 – 16 years ). Children in Year 1 and Year 2 make up this phase. They are between 5 and 7 years old. This phase is known as the “Infants”, and enjoys its own dedicated playground.


Key Stage 2 is for children age 7 to 11 years and is made up of 4 classes: Years 3, 4, 5 and 6. This phase is also known as the “Juniors”. The playground for this phase has marked areas for games with a large adjoining garden area used, by all children in the school.